So even when set to 'Textured' mode they still aren't showing up?semory wrote:Still haven't solved the problem via scripting but one thing I noticed... when I render the triangles are textured LOL! just not in the 3D view.
Blender General Questions
Moderators: ObscureMemories, Runa, Love2Raid
-
- Porter
- Posts: 3518
- Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
- Custom Rank: Skynet Status
- Location: Cyberspace
- Contact:
Re: Blender General Questions
- semory
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7755
- Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:38 pm
- Custom Rank: Kitty pu tu tu lay!
- Location: Torrance, CA
Re: Blender General Questions
Yep
. Draw Type is set to Textured.

- semory
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7755
- Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:38 pm
- Custom Rank: Kitty pu tu tu lay!
- Location: Torrance, CA
Re: Blender General Questions
Code: Select all
#
# PYTHON IMPORTS
#
import array
import struct
import sys
#
# BLENDER IMPORTS
#
import Blender
from Blender import Image
from Blender import Material
from Blender import Modifier
from Blender import Mathutils
from Blender import Texture
from Blender import Window
import bpy
#
# CONTROL EXECUTION
# main() is called if and only if module is not imported
#
def main():
# mesh data
verts = [ (-1.0, 0.0, 0.0), (0.0, 0.0, 1.0), (1.0, 0.0, 0.0) ]
faces = [ (0, 1, 2) ]
uvmap = [ (0.0, 0.0), (0.5, 1.0), (1.0, 0.0) ]
# create mesh
mesh = Blender.Mesh.New("mesh")
mesh.verts.extend(verts)
mesh.faces.extend(faces)
mesh.faceUV = True
mesh.addUVLayer('uvmap')
mesh.activeUVLayer = 'uvmap'
for index, face in enumerate(mesh.faces):
a = faces[index][0]
b = faces[index][1]
c = faces[index][2]
face.uv = [ Mathutils.Vector(uvmap[a][0], uvmap[a][1]), Mathutils.Vector(uvmap[b][0], uvmap[b][1]), Mathutils.Vector(uvmap[c][0], uvmap[c][1]) ]
# add mesh to current scene and make mesh active
scene = Blender.Scene.GetCurrent()
meshobject = scene.objects.new(mesh, "MeshObject")
scene.objects.active = meshobject
# create and load image
image = Image.Load('C:\\Program Files\\Blender Foundation\\blender-2.49b\\Jack_a.dds')
if image is None: raise Exception('Failed to load image.')
if image.bindcode == 0: image.glLoad()
# create texture and assign image
texture = Texture.New()
texture.setImage(image)
texture.setName('texture')
# create material
material = Material.New('material')
material.setTexture(0, texture, Texture.TexCo.UV, Texture.MapTo.COL)
# assign material to faces
meshobject.colbits = 1
meshobject.setMaterials([material])
for f in mesh.faces: f.mat = 0
# redraw
mesh.update()
Window.RedrawAll()
if __name__ == '__main__':
main()
-
- Porter
- Posts: 3518
- Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
- Custom Rank: Skynet Status
- Location: Cyberspace
- Contact:
Re: Blender General Questions
So could I just paste that in the script window and run it? ( minus the specific texture file of course)
My only noob though on that is, maybe the UV mapping isn't properly established on import...? The only reference I see is
material.setTexture(0, texture, Texture.TexCo.UV, Texture.MapTo.COL)
Is that guaranteeing that the mesh / texture are aligned correctly? I know that when the mesh.ascii importers run I'd have to move the UV coordinates if I wanted to do any editing.
My only noob though on that is, maybe the UV mapping isn't properly established on import...? The only reference I see is
material.setTexture(0, texture, Texture.TexCo.UV, Texture.MapTo.COL)
Is that guaranteeing that the mesh / texture are aligned correctly? I know that when the mesh.ascii importers run I'd have to move the UV coordinates if I wanted to do any editing.
- semory
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7755
- Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:38 pm
- Custom Rank: Kitty pu tu tu lay!
- Location: Torrance, CA
Re: Blender General Questions
yeah, paste it in the text view and run it. UVs are fine, go into UV editor and select uvmap and voila a nice triangle. weird though it renders great just doesn't show in 3d view (have to actually load the image in the UV editor manually). i'm telling you, that blender python book sucks
.

- semory
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7755
- Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:38 pm
- Custom Rank: Kitty pu tu tu lay!
- Location: Torrance, CA
Re: Blender General Questions
LOL solved the problem... had to use enable GLSL materials
. Game > Blender GLSL materials... how finicky
.


-
- Porter
- Posts: 3518
- Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
- Custom Rank: Skynet Status
- Location: Cyberspace
- Contact:
Re: Blender General Questions
Cool, sorry I didn't get a chance to take a look at it. Social stuff hijacked weekend shenanigans.semory wrote:LOL solved the problem... had to use enable GLSL materials. Game > Blender GLSL materials... how finicky
.
- semory
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7755
- Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:38 pm
- Custom Rank: Kitty pu tu tu lay!
- Location: Torrance, CA
Re: Blender General Questions
It's all good. I gave up on writing 2.49b plugin on Friday and busted sat and sun figuring out the 2.65 plugin system instead. Had same problem so started reading a book on general usage and found the glsl thing and it solved it for both. Sucks to spend two days on something that was just a one-click menu item problem
.

-
- Porter
- Posts: 3518
- Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:13 pm
- Custom Rank: Skynet Status
- Location: Cyberspace
- Contact:
Re: Blender General Questions
Tis the nature of trial and error of troubleshooting anything technical. What you mean I spent 2 days trying to debug something only to find out I was missing a comma,semory wrote:It's all good. I gave up on writing 2.49b plugin on Friday and busted sat and sun figuring out the 2.65 plugin system instead. Had same problem so started reading a book on general usage and found the glsl thing and it solved it for both. Sucks to spend two days on something that was just a one-click menu item problem.

- semory
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7755
- Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:38 pm
- Custom Rank: Kitty pu tu tu lay!
- Location: Torrance, CA
Re: Blender General Questions
Yeah, it's like "hey, my file won't save... i keep losing my data" "oh, hey, two days later there's a File > Save menu item." Makes you feel really stupid you know
. And to top it all off, szkaradek (the guy who writes blender scripts on xentax) responded to the question I sent him last Friday today (of course, after I finally figured it out
).

